Rain, rain, go away, come again some other day!

It has been raining almost every day this entire summer. It rains in the morning, it rains in the afternoon, and it rains in the evening. At least once nearly every day. All. Summer. Long. Sometimes all day long. It’s gotten to the point that if it is sunny for a moment, I think I’m seeing things. This probably sounds like exaggeration, but I checked the local statistics. In June this summer, it rained on 21 of the first 31 summer days for a total of 8.33 inches.  I didn’t look for the statistics for July’s rainfall because after seeing June’s, I got too depressed to check.

I’m not a farmer. I didn’t plant any vegetables or flowers in my back yard this year like I usually do. I just didn’t get around to it, but I consider that a good thing. Many of my neighbor’s flowers or vegetables are not doing well. At the local farmer markets, the farmers complain that much of their seeds were washed away earlier in the summer and that the crops aren’t doing well because the fields keep getting flooded.

I haven’t been able to do many of the outdoor activities I normally do this summer because of all the rain. Not much time for my daughter and I to ride our bikes, go swimming outdoors, take walks at the park, play Frisbee, etc. Forget about planning a picnic outdoors, or at least if you do, be prepared to get rained out.

Now, I am not a sun worshipper. I am far too fair skinned. I always burn in the sun whether I have on the strongest sunblock or not. Zinc oxide is the only thing that will stop me from burning, and I don’t dig trying to apply that everywhere. Be that as it may, I still enjoy looking outside and seeing the sun once in a while.  And, I can always wait until later in the day when the sun’s rays aren’t so intense. Or hang out outside where I can be under cover and sheltered.

Once when I was on holiday in Mexico, I completely forgot myself and sat out on the beach most of the afternoon. The sun was blazing and intense, but the beautiful azure water enticed me to stay outside and enjoy the sun’s rays. Well, perhaps the margaritas I was drinking helped me to  forget myself as well, but that’s probably another story. I was so sun burned from that error in judgment that I had to cancel two outdoor excursions I had planned on the following two days. I had terrible blisters on my stomach and shoulders. It was excruciatingly painful, so since then, I do remember to be more cautious.

Anyway, this rainfall is making me nostalgic for a sunnier time . . . . like last summer  when there was a virtual drought. Countless sunny days were so much better, so much happier, than all this rain.

Ciao!

 

 

 

 

 

